Domestic Violence Charges: What Happens Next?

Domestic Violence Charges

Physical violence and threats resulting in domestic violence are punishable in both Henderson and throughout Nevada. No setting is off limits to domestic violence as the term refers to a relationship rather than a physical location. Domestic violence involves violence between parents and children, intimate partners, co-parents, cohabiting relatives, spouses, or former spouses.

Types of Domestic Violence

There is a common misconception that domestic abuse refers only to physical violence or threats of harm. However, domestic abuse encompasses a much broader range of behaviors. These include:

  • Sexual abuse
  • Economic abuse
  • Psychological abuse
  • Neglect
  • Isolation
  • Endangerment
  • Stalking
  • Criminal trespass
  • Intimidation and threats

It is important to seek the assistance of a qualified criminal defense attorney when dealing with domestic violence cases. This will give the attorney a chance to begin gathering facts about the case and designing an effective strategy. If you are in this situation, you need the right lawyer by your side.

Domestic Violence in Las Vegas, NV

In accordance with Nevada state law, law enforcement is able to prosecute domestic violence crimes. Las Vegas domestic violence consequences go far beyond criminal penalties. Even misdemeanor DV convictions result in a complete prohibition of firearms ownership or possession. A court may also require the person to attend DV classes or impose counseling requirements.

In Las Vegas and throughout Nevada, based on the crime, the following types of criminal penalties may be imposed:

First Domestic Violence Offense, Misdemeanor:

  • County jail for 2 days to 6 months
  • Community service of 48 to 120 hours
  • $200 to $1,000 fine

Second Domestic Violence Offense Within 7 Years, Misdemeanor:

  • County jail for 10 days to 6 months
  • Community service of 100 to 200 hours
  • $500 to $1,000 fine

Third Domestic Violence Offense Within 7 Years, Felony:

  • State prison for 1 to 5 years
  • Up to $10,000 in fines

Contact our team today at (702) 957-1360 to get the representation that you deserve.